Stay-At-Home Mom: Day 1

Hello, friends. My name is Jan, and today is my first official day as a stay-at-home mom. I had a lot of reservations over the decision to stay home with my now 2 month old son, and with it being so new still, I’m not sure how I feel yet. Other than my now increased stress over money, it feels exactly the same as the last two months home on maternity leave with my son felt… yet somehow completely different. I had been working with the company that I left for a little over a year and a half, and it was a nightmare throughout my whole maternity leave. This isn’t to say that I didn’t like my job, because I did (well, as much as you can like working retail), but the way the company treated me as a new mom when going on/returning from maternity leave was just awful. I guess that made the decision a little easier. That, and how utterly impossible it is to find affordable childcare out in these cornfields.

So, here I am, writing this post on my phone, while lying on the couch with a sleeping baby on me (yes, we co-sleep, but that’s a post for another day), wondering if anyone at all will even be interested in my experiences as a SAHM/gamer mom. Worth a shot, right?

Anyway. More to come as I live each day in this new chapter of my life. Hope you’ll stick around for the journey.

J

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

One thought on “Stay-At-Home Mom: Day 1”

  1. I worked retail for 4 years (Wal-Mart refugee here). Everyone said after a few months of me being gone that I looked better, sounded, better, and generally just seemed happier. I am sure you will come to feel much better about it as well. Money will be an issue for the rest of your life. Stressing about it means you care, but do not let it consume you. Worrying about things you cannot control is just un-needed stress. I wish you the best of luck and I will keep checking out your blog. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

