I’m In Stitches

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to learn to sew. Or crochet. Or knit. My grandmother was a homemaker, and she watched me a lot while my mom was working. She cooked and baked, painted ceramics, made clothes and little handmade projects… I wanted to do that. She would give me all her ceramic scraps, like a pumpkin or a small dog, that she wasn’t using in her projects, and I would get to paint them. She also made wedding cakes, and cakes for birthdays and special occasions, and if one of the layers wasn’t perfect, she gave it to me to decorate. My own little cake. I picked up little things from her here and there, like what flavors complimented each other, and what colors went together… but I never did anything with any of that knowledge. I don’t cook, I don’t bake, I don’t paint, I don’t sew… but now, I crochet.

About a week ago, I reached out on Twitter and asked my followers which they prefer: crocheting or knitting. From what I understand, the biggest difference between the two is the number of needles you use. Crocheting seemed like a simpler, cheaper, thing to learn… so I did. A friend helped me with some yarn and needles, and I spent the next few days watching YouTube videos and hunting down simple, beginner patterns to try while waiting for my package to come in the mail. When it finally arrived, I wasted no time getting to work on learning. It’s definitely a fun little thing to focus on while the baby is sleeping on me, or I’m bored in WoW waiting for a queue to pop, etc.

CCGB3GTWgAMpcEm

I picked the yarn I wanted to use, and found a very basic video on learning different stitches. I believe I was making a potholder. As you can see from the picture… it didn’t turn out so well. It didn’t take me long to make, and I got significantly better as I went, but the end result was… unattractive. I decided to unravel and try something else, since I now knew the basics.

CCLauSgVIAAVMWsCCLnJT1UwAIiS2G

WRAP BRACELETS! I love wrap bracelets, and I could even make money selling them once I’m comfortable/good enough at making them. I found three different tutorials, and kind of combined all three techniques… and voila! I made the first one (light blue) in about 20 minutes. I screwed up sewing the button on, and it was a bit tight on my wrist, but I was so happy with it. So I made another, in my favorite color… GREEN! This one took me a little less than 15 minutes, and I didn’t mess up the button! It fits perfectly, and I intend to actually wear it!

Some of you know this, some of you don’t, but for the last couple years, I’ve participated in our local Relay For Life event with my fiance, his mother, and whoever happens to be on the team. I had an idea for these bracelets, since they are so cheap and easy to make… I can make them in the colors of the different cancer awareness ribbons (purple, pink, yellow, blue, etc.) and sell them at this year’s Relay, if we do it this year. I am completely in love with the idea, I just hope we are able to do it this year. Kyle’s mom is finishing up nursing school, Kyle works full time, and now we have a baby… so we’ll see.

CCQJCmlVEAA0Ouu

Another idea I had was to make baby accessories. Who doesn’t love baby accessories?! Of course, I have a baby boy, so almost everything I make would be for sale/gifts, but it is a fun idea. The picture above is my first attempt at a newborn headband, with a flower and button. It took about 35 minutes total. I had never made a flower before either. The headband ended up being about half an inch short for a standard newborn size, so it could be for a preemie… but I will remember next time to account for my stitches when measuring my yarn. I know so many people who are due with baby girls, and these can be made in so many colors and thicknesses for different seasons… I’m excited to learn more techniques and patterns for these, and hopefully they can make me a little money now that I’m a SAHM.

Thank you all for reading, and for encouraging me to take on a new challenge in my life. I can’t wait to show you more cute things as I make them!

J

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

Leave a Reply

