Supernatural Adventures In The Sims 3

Hello, friends! As many of you already know, I have been taking an extended break from World of Warcraft for quite some time now. I was really excited to get back into playing after having to wait 2 loooong years to get my internet back, but when I was finally able to log back in, things weren’t as great as I had hoped. This, coupled with the demands of being the stay-at-home parent of a very demanding infant, brought me to the decision to continue my break from the game. But don’t fret! I may be back. Some day. Maybe.

So, some of you may be wondering what I have been up to, right? Well, when I’m not binge-watching show after show on Netflix, enjoying a marathon of my favorite YouTubers, or rolling around on the floor with my rowdy 7-month old son, I am usually playing The Sims 3. I love The Sims! I’ve been playing the various Sims games since I was little, and I’ve been playing The Sims 3 for… well, basically since the beginning.

Screenshot-3

I have most of the major expansions for the game, and have collected quite a bit of goodies from The Exchange, as well as the online store, in my many years of playing this game. I wish I could say that I owned more of the seriously awesome bundle packs and worlds from the store (Midight Hollow, Dragon Valley, and Lunar Lakes specifically), but honestly, I’ve spent a lot of money on this game already, and don’t intend to buy any new content for a bit… unless someone wants to be really awesome give me access to their Origin/Sims 3 account and let me download your stuff? Yeah, thought not. I haven’t spent nearly as much on The Sims 3 as I have on World of Warcraft (thousands of dollars over the course of 9 years)… but definitely a nice chunk of change. It makes my wallet very, very sad.

Lately, I’ve been playing around a lot more with scenarios and stories involving the Supernatural and the Into the Future expansions. I also toyed around a bit with the University Life expansion and found it fun. I love the Supernatural expansion the most, for obvious reasons. Witches, vampires, werewolves, zombies,  faeries… what’s not to love? I would have to say that my favorite Supernatural characters to play would be witches. As you level your magic skills, you can do things like conjuring poison apples, blasting things with ice or fire, casting some neat curses and charms on Sims, and eventually… raising zombies. Pretty cool, right? It also comes with new skills, such as alchemy, which are really fun as well.

I should preface the following by telling you that I’ve always been really awful when it comes to using cheats in The Sims 3… if the cheat exists, I’ve probably used it at least once… if not 1,000 times. But as many of you know, when you enable and use cheats in the game, you have a much higher chance of corrupt save files, glitches within the game, and your game unexpectedly closing. All of which really suck when you’ve been spending an hour or more building a mansion and never took the time to save. Believe me, it’s happened to me many, MANY times. After losing and breaking games that I had put so many hours into, I finally decided to start a game using no cheats… except for teleporting. Sometimes. It’s kind of a must have for me, haha. I’ve actually been having a lot of fun! In the very beginning, I enabled the roommates option, which you can get in the University Life expansion, to help with living expenses and cleaning while I focused on making my Sim be the best she can be.

My “main” Sim (pictured above) is a badass redhead with dreadlocks and freckles, as well as a love for books, candles, and alchemy. She is also a witch. My Sim has never had a job. Instead, she busted her butt learning alchemy, and became a self-employed alchemist, selling her potions (and extra bits) at the consignment store. I had her complete the chain of events so that she could go to the future, where she obtained winning lottery numbers, and won the lottery. Twice. I went from having almost nothing, to having 1.6 million Simoleons. I built her a massive mansion, and created a few more supernatural roommates for her (I created and placed them randomly in town, then asked them to be my roommates manually so that I wouldn’t have to add them and control them myself).

Screenshot-8

My witch now has a few million Simoleons, a mansion with a huge garden and cemetery (with wandering ghosts), 3 other supernatural roommates (another witch, a faerie, and a vampire), and 2 dogs. She has max skill in alchemy, magic, gardening, and cooking… those were really the only ones I was concerned with. When she isn’t training her dogs to sniff out valuable collectibles, throwing potions at unsuspecting Sims, and transforming people into toads, she also enjoys walking around her massive plot of land in sexy lingerie. I mean, honestly, who doesn’t though?

Started from the bottom, now we’re here!

I’ve been having a lot of fun not using cheats. I thought it was going to be a boring drag, but it has been the exact opposite. I enjoy the challenge of not using cheats, not to mention my game runs smoother, and I haven’t had any crashing or buggy issues since I started. You may have noticed that I also play with my graphics ALL the way down… well, that is not by choice. I received this computer 3 years ago from a dear friend after he upgraded, and it isn’t holding up so well these days. All of my drivers are painfully out-0f-date, especially my video driver. So out-of-date, that no updates are even available for my model anymore. Ouch. This is also one of the several reasons I stepped away from World of Warcraft.

So I play The Sims 3 on the lowest settings. It’s not so bad though! It’s been a fun way too kill time when my kiddo is taking naps, or when I’m the last one to go to bed in my house at night. Even if my Sims always look smudgy and pixelated… and gross.

Do any of you guys play any of The Sims games? What are your favorite expansions? Do you ever trap and kill people just for fun? Have you upgraded to The Sims 4? I want to know!

Thanks for reading!

Jan

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

6 thoughts on “Supernatural Adventures In The Sims 3”

  1. My 16yr old daughter played Sims 3 morning, noon, and night for years. I spent a pretty penny on all the expansion packs too. She was always a tattooed Fairy. She gave the Goth family plenty to think about….
    But. Then. The worst thing happened. Computer blue screened, never to be revived. Poor daughter was devastated. The discs don’t work on Windows 10 she says. Poor kid. She’s finding solace in Pokemon and Elder Scrolls, but she’ll never forget Sims 3. Hi Jan 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, sounds like i would get along well with her! 🙂 Sims 3 is very addicting, it’s just SO fun! My current computer is ancient, and can’t handle the Sims, so I’m stuck playing tiny Flash games on the internet. It is so sad. 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

