Daily Prompt 1/27/2016 | Quote Me

The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt 1/27/2016 | Quote Me

“Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?”

I’m usually not one for quotes, for a couple reasons. While I do feel that there have been many inspirational things said throughout time, I also feel that nothing is ever original. Even the most inspirational quotes, said by the world’s most influential people, are just words, pieced together, based on other expressions, or things heard in passing. Nothing is original. I’ve never heard someone say a famous quote, and thought, “Wow, that completely changes everything.

I also feel weird recognizing people for quotes, when so many word combinations have been spoken in the thousands of years that humans have been speaking. The odds of Martin Luther King’s Jr.’s full “I have A Dream” speech having been said, word for word, 100 years prior is a little unlikely, but you see what I’m saying, right? You see it today, when people take someone’s Tweet, or Facebook post, crop out their name, and circulate it around as a meme or something. You never know where the words originated from, and I know that I wouldn’t feel great seeing someone credited for saying my words, and making them famous, somewhere down the road, doing talk shows and whatnot. I would not be happy.

With that little rant having been typed out, there is one quote that has resonated with me since I was a child. Of course, Winnie the Pooh is just a fictional bear in a children’s show, so really, the writers should be credited with the quote, but I don’t know who they are, so we’ll give this one to Pooh.

“There is something you must always remember: You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” ~ Winnie the Pooh

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

Leave a Reply

