Daily Prompt 7/2/2016 | Kill It With Fire

[In response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt 7/2/2016 | Burn]

Fear is a funny thing. Well, maybe not funny, since some fears can utterly cripple the individual, but funny as in… fear makes people do funny things sometimes. There are different kinds of fears, and different levels of fear. For example, my fiance, a big guy, with a history of football and brawling, and a slightly intimidating demeanor and physique, is afraid of just about every creepy crawly you can imagine, no matter how big or small. Ants, beetles, bees, moths, butterflies, mosquitoes, and don’t even get me started on spiders… they turn him into, well, for lack of a better analogy, a little girl. A squealing, quivering, little girl. I wish I were joking, but it is kind of hilarious. There have been countless occasions where I have had to come to his rescue with a shoe, or a rolled up magazine, and squish a tiny critter. I wouldn’t make fun of him if his fears were more severe, but they aren’t. He has no traumatic, triggering memories to fuel his fears… he just gets creeped out, and calls in the cavalry, me.

I’ve never been afraid of these little guys, and I actually used to have collections of bugs as a child, much to my mother’s dismay. I’m the girl who stops on her walk to pick up a praying mantis that’s wandered into the street. I’m the girl who would rather scoop up an orb weaver spider, and return him to his web outside,rather than squish him. I’m the girl who, with the help of my brave neighbor, killed over three dozen yellow jackets that had gotten into my apartment via a hole in the wall. I’m far from fearless, but when it comes to six and eight-legged (or more) creatures, I’m not bothered. Same with rodents. Sure, I’d rather not handle a large sewer rat, or play with a horde of fluffy mice, but I’m not afraid of them.

In fact, I only really have one fear… the fear of the unknown. Take that as you wish, since it actually has several meanings for me personally. However, I’d like to focus on one aspect of this particular fear… the ocean. Deep waters. The cold, vast, black abyss dangling below your tiny feet when you go swimming. That scares me. When I was younger, and forced to go out on my step-father’s boat, I would be frozen with fear the entire time. Whether is was on a river, on a lake, or on the ocean, I could not relax, and I certainly could not enjoy myself. Now, don’t get me wrong, I actually love swimming… as long as I can see what is around me. I like to see my feet, and all the things potentially hiding in the water, waiting to eat me. That’s all.

Why am I afraid of deep water? Well, here are just a few examples of things that are lurking in the scary depths of the ocean (okay, sure, a couple thousand feet down, but still…):

Nope. Nooope. NopenopenopenopenopenopeNOPE.

Are you not terrified yet? No? … Really? Well, those are just the creepy, deep sea creatures that we’ve discovered thus far. The possibilities are endless.

FOR EXAMPLE!

Yeah, you don’t know, those could be lurking in the depths right now. They could. You just don’t know!

Hope you’re all enjoying your summer (if it is summer for you)! Don’t forget to wear sunscreen when you head to the beach!

Thanks for reading, friends.

Jan

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt 7/2/2016 | Kill It With Fire”

Leave a Reply

