High School Memories

Hey, friends. I’ve been meaning to upload a vlog about everything that has been going on lately, but honestly, I’m too depressed. Kyle has been away at school for three days now, and we just found out that his classes actually last five weeks, and not three weeks, like he was originally told. Five weeks, followed by four to six weeks of driving on the road with his instructor. I haven’t been this bored, lonely, or sad, for a very long time. Luckily, I am able to Skype with him for a few minutes after his classes, but I miss him. Liam and I both do.

Anyway, I’ve tried to vlog about everything, but I scrapped my first two videos, because I just didn’t like them. I haven’t been able to write either, because I’ve been spending my days glued to the couch, or doing Zumba, and playing with my son. It has been too hot to go outside to do anything, and Kyle took the car seat with him, so I can’t even go anywhere with anyone who would be willing to spend time with me. Stuck inside. Stuck.

I stumbled across this on Facebook, and my friend’s answers gave me a chuckle, so I thought I would fill it out myself, and post it here. My answers aren’t nearly as funny, in fact, they are pretty sad. But here you go!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

High School Memories:
1) What years were you in high school?
2004-2008, I believe!

2) Did you graduate?
Yep, class of 2008.

3) Did you car pool to school, or take the bus?
I took the bus my freshman year, but sophomore year and junior year, my mom brought us. I started taking the bus again my senior year… I was the oldest kid on the bus.

4) What was your first car?
Fun story, I never had a car. I had to pay for Driver’s Ed. out of pocket, and it was several hundred dollars. I did not have a job, so I had to save up holiday/birthday money, and allowance, until I could afford it. I didn’t get my permit until my senior year, and I was about to leave the country, so I never got my license.

5) What kind of car do you have now?
I still don’t have a car… or my license.

6) Who was your best friend?
I had a few over the years. I am very difficult to be friends with. Freshman year, my best friend was my then-boyfriend, Brandon. I also had my friends Mark, Chad, and Adam… all of which I dated. And Adara, who was probably my most loyal best friend, since she wasn’t trying to get in my pants. Towards the end of my high school years, most of my friends were through the internet. I drifted apart from all the other ones, after some drama had ensued, and my best friend, Matt, became my long-distance boyfriend.

7) Did you have a boyfriend/girlfriend?
Oh, boy. Both actually. Just in high school, there was Mikel, Brandon, Mark, Tory, Mark again, Caitlin, Mark again, and Matt. There were also two senior guys when I was a freshman (or sophomore) who were always trying to make out with me, no matter where we were. That was weird. I don’t remember their names.

8) It’s a typical Friday night… where were you?
Freshman and sophomore years, I went to football games with my friends. I stopped doing that in my sophomore year though. I also started going to my dad’s house on the weekends, since he had gotten out of prison, and he would let me drink and bring boys over. Great role model, right? Junior and senior years, my nights were usually spent playing World of Warcraft with the only friends I really had left, online. Though I did start branching out again my senior year and became close with a few other people in the real world, haha.

9) What kind of job did you have in high school?
I actually never had a job in high school, but not for lack of trying. I did volunteer a lot through the school though. I lived way, way out in the outskirts of town, and didn’t have a car, so transportation was a big problem. The only job I even came close to having was working in the kitchen at West Street Market. I showed up on the first day after walking 2 miles in the heat, got heat stroke, got yelled at by the woman who was supposed to be training me, then threw up and fainted out in the bathroom. They told me not to come back.

10) Were you a party animal?
The complete opposite, usually. I was pretty shy.

11) Were you a cheerleader?
Not in high school, but I was when I was younger.

12) Did you play any sports?
Not in high school. I did attempt marching band, but quit.

13) Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
Band. Clarinet. I quit my sophomore year. I was in choir in middle school, but gave it up. Too bad, because I was good at both.

14) Were you part of any particular cliques/labels?
I was pretty average, actually. Still am. I never really fit in anywhere, but seemed to fit into every label a little bit. I was the girl that everyone knew existed, but no one particularly cared, if that makes sense. I guess if I had to pick one, I was most familiar with “emo”.

15) Were you a good student? 
Kind of. I was in 300 level and Honors classes. I never gave myself enough credit for my intelligence, and whenever I was placed in smart classes, I didn’t put in the effort, because I felt like I never belonged. I was a smart kid, and I took that for granted, and stopped trying. My grades suffered because of that.

16) Did you do any extra-curricular activities?
Concert band, marching band, and jazz band my freshman and sophomore years, Upward Bound all four years, Gay-Straight Alliance Club, Civil Rights, Amnesty International, and a whole bunch of volunteer work through my JMG class.

17) Did you ever get suspended or expelled?
Never. Not even a detention.

18) Did you ever get into any fights?
Nothing too serious, but a few.

19) Can you sing your school’s fight song?
I don’t think we had one… if we did, I never knew it.

20) Who was/were your favorite high school teacher(s)?
I had a few. Mrs. Brinkman-Young, who was my English teacher my junior year, as well as our leader for Civil Rights and Amnesty International. We’re friends on Facebook now. I also really liked Doc McCarthy, who was my Honors Biology teacher my sophomore year, and Mr. Larrivee, who I had for Geometry. I also loved the librarians!

21) What was/were your favorite subject(s)?
Hmm… probably Psychology, which I took my senior year. I also really liked Sociology. I took Criminal Science my junior year, which had an English class, and a science class, and they were both really fun. English was great, too. Okay, I liked school in general… except math.

22) What was/were your least favorite subject(s)?
Anything having to do with math. I was just awful at math. I got an A in Geometry, but it was hard.

23) Did you take any foreign language classes?
I took French for 7 years… I remember nothing, and now live in a predominantly Spanish speaking area. Ugh.

24) Where did you sit for lunch?
Freshman year, I ate breakfast and lunch in the band room hallway with the other band kids, sophomore year, I ate in the cafeteria, and junior and senior years, I ate in the back of the library, by myself. I was the library aide, and spent a lot of time in there.

25) What was your school’s full name?
Biddeford High School.

26) What was your school’s mascot?
The tiger!

27) Did you go to your prom?
I actually never went to prom. Part of me regrets it, part of me knows it would have been a waste of money. Also, no one asked me. I went to the Homecoming dance freshman, sophomore, and junior years though. That was fun.

 

29361_1321594839437_1652042_n
Upward Bound bowling trip 2007.


28) What did you typically do over summer break?

Upward Bound, all four years. Best time of my life.

 

29) What are/were your school’s colors?
Orange and black (and white?). Tiger colors, haha.

30) What color was your cap and gown?
White and white. Boys wore black, girls wore white… I looked like a giant marshmallow, haha.

31) Are you planning on going to your next reunion?
Not likely. I live a few thousand miles away now, and there’s nothing for me to go back to.

32) Are you still in contact with people from school?
A few, actually. We don’t talk regularly, and I can’t blame them, but we’re Facebook friends. Adam, Mark, Chad, Codi, Adara, Tory, Holly, Coral, a few others that I can’t remember off the top of my head (because they never gave me the time of day in school), a handful of my Upward Bound friends, and some teachers!

33) If you could go back and do it all over again, would you?
It’s complicated… I did a lot of stupid things that jeopardized my future, for the sake of a boy, or for popularity, or other trivial things… but if I hadn’t ended up where I am now, I wouldn’t have my beautiful son, or my fiance. So… no. I don’t think I would. I wish I would have tried harder though. But I made it through, with more good memories than bad.

 

65373_1429473936347_2443431_n
Codi, me, Adam, and Mark at graduation!

So there you have it, a glimpse into Jan as a widdle, innocent high school student. I will say one thing, I was definitely a better kid than most of the teenagers I’ve had the unpleasant experience of running into these days. What the hell is wrong with kids these days?

Thanks for reading, friends!

Jan

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

4 thoughts on “High School Memories”

Leave a Reply

