Dream Journal 7/16/16 | Murder At A Concert

I was waiting backstage, holding my clarinet, getting ready to go out on stage to perform with people from my childhood and high school years. I recognized several people from high school, some from middle school, and some from district music festivals, even though we were all adults, and I hadn’t seen any of them in eight or more years.

Out on stage, I took my seat with the other clarinet players, but the conductor came up to me and told me that I was supposed to be in the soloist section, because I had two solos. I told him that I did not have any solos, and when he named the two songs that I had solos in, I started to panic. I had only received sheet music for two songs in the mail, and they weren’t for the two songs he named. I told him there was no way I could perform the solos, but he just walked away, telling me that I had to move sections.

I sat down in the soloist section, and recognized a few other people there. I asked the clarinet player next to me if I could share her sheet music, but she told me that she was a third chair, and I was a first chair, and she didn’t want to get in trouble. I asked the girl next to her the same question, and she gave me a similar answer. I stood up, ready to walk off the stage, when the curtain started to go up. I sat down quickly, and ended up faking my way through the songs, until the conductor motioned for me to stand for my solo. I ducked behind the stand, and everyone around me turned to stare. The auditorium was completely silent, aside from some whispering, and then the curtain fell. More silence.

The conductor stormed towards me, and the people around me scrambled and ran. He grabbed me by the arm and started shouting in my face about how I ruined his concert. I shouted back at him that I never received the music, and did not know about the solo, but he would not listen. I stood up and ran from the stage.

I’m not sure if it was the same day, or sometime in the near future, but I was at a pool party with several of the other people from the concert. Gabbie, the famous Viner/YouTuber was there, talking about an album that she was releasing, and people were gathered around her. A moving van was backing into her neighbor’s driveway, and one of the men driving came over to the fence, and told us that the man living there had been brutally murdered, and that his family wanted to give away all of his belongings. They started dragging all of his furniture out to the front lawn, and we all went over to look through it all.

There was a large, framed picture lying on a table, and that’s when we found out that the house was owned by the conductor who had yelled at me at the concert. Everyone looked at me and started whispering, but I ignored them, and went inside to look at his stuff. There was a very large entertainment center in the middle of his living room, and someone was already removing the TV. I started opening all of the drawers and cabinets on the entertainment center, and found a pile of coupons for free tacos at a local restaurant. Another drawer had an actual pile of tacos, and one of the cabinets was filled with expensive wine bottles. I started shoving the tacos and the coupons into my pockets and my bag, when a police officer walked into the room and called out my name. I turned around, and they walked up to me, and told me I was under arrest for the murder of the man, and that there were witnesses.

Several people jumped to my defense, including Gabbie, saying that I had been at the party all day, and that there was no way that it was me, but the police dragged me away anyway. As they shoved me into the back of the cruiser, the others moved to the lawn, and started shouting and protesting my arrest, but the police did not care. We started driving away…

And then I woke up.

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

Leave a Reply

