Dream Journal 10/19/16

I was sitting at my kitchen table, drinking coffee while Liam ate his breakfast, when I heard the sound of voices in the building’s hallway. I looked through the poop hole, and saw my childhood neighbor, Ashley, and her younger brother, Jacob, moving furniture into the apartment across the hall. I opened the door and greeted them excitedly. I hadn’t seen Ashley since she graduated high school, nearly 12 years ago, and I asked what she was doing halfway across the country. She told me that she had gotten a job teaching at the local elementary school, and Jacob moved out here with her to help her pay bills. I hugged them both, and went back inside.

As I sipped my coffee, I heard more people enter the hallway to help them move in. I could hear them trying to maneuver a large couch into her their apartment, and before I could offer my help, Ashley was unlocking my door, and moving the couch through my doorway. I asked her how she had a key to my apartment, and she told me that she had actually bought the building. I was upset, and politely told her that she couldn’t just come into my apartment whenever she pleased. This upset her, and she slammed the door, and went bak to the hallway. I could hear her talking about me to the other people, telling them that I was a brat as a child, and a bully, and that I hadn’t changed at all. I started to cry, and locked myself in the bathroom.

Suddenly, I was in my childhood bathroom, complete with wires and table lamps everywhere, since a rat had chewed through the wires when I was a child. I got into the shower, clothes still on, and turned on the water. The drain was clogged, like it usually was, and water pooled slowly around my feet and ankles. I washed my face and hair, but was interrupted by my mother’s voice, telling me to hurry up and to stop wasting water. I rinsed off and got out of the shower, water sloshing over the side of the tub, as the water filled up to my knees in the stained tub.

I wrapped a towel around myself, even though I was still in my clothes, and opened the door. My mother was no longer standing outside the door, and I made my way across the familiar trailer that I grew up in, until I got to her bedroom. I knocked and turned the knob, but the door was locked, and I heard only silence. I turned and walked outside, turning around the side of the trailer to the backyard, where my old trampoline sat. There was a fire still burning in the fire pit.

I remember hearing my neighbor’s dog barking, and the wind blowing… then I forget.

I eventually woke up.

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

2 thoughts on “Dream Journal 10/19/16”

Leave a Reply

