Dream Journal 8/20/17 | Halloween

I was in a large common area with a bunch of other people my age. All along the walls were numerous, small kitchen units, which looked outdated, yet were somehow futuristic. I was trying to make some sort of spaghetti dish, and kept transferring the food to various pots and pans, while trying to figure out how to work the stove. One of the other people in the room, a woman, came over to help me, but she was laughing at me, and told me that I shouldn’t be allowed to cook. I got angry, and threw the spaghetti on the floor, and stormed out of the common area, and into another room.

The other room looked like a large, dirty living room, and there were more people in there. I sat on the couch next to one of the guys, and he asked me if I wanted to go into town with him and get Halloween candy for his little brother and my son. I said ‘yes’, and we left the building. We started walking, and I noticed that the surrounding neighborhoods were empty and rundown. Every building had broken windows, graffiti, and garbage on the lawns. There were no other people.

We kept walking, until we came to a large courtyard in front of a building that looked just like the one we were in before. There were a couple tables set up, covered with various bags of Halloween candy, and baked goods. There only seemed to be one man running the tables, and he was weird. He was young, but looked like he was in his 50s. He was short, with greasy, balding hair, and glasses that were way too big for his face. The guy and I grabbed some paper bags from the table, and followed got in line behind the other people there. I grabbed a few treats for me, and a few treats for my son, but when I got to the table with the weird man, he told me I could only choose one type of candy from that table. I told him I wanted some M&Ms for my son, and he pulled out a straw, and started to snort loose M&M candies from one of the bags. I hurried away before he finished, completely grossed out.

As I was browsing a table filled with questionable baked goods, a man slammed into me, and stole one of my candy bags. I screamed, and chased him into the large building, weaving through a crowd of people that had come out of nowhere. He shut himself behind a large, orange door that had no handle, and I pounded and banged on the door for ages. Eventually, I walked away.

In the lobby of the building, I found my son, pulling a big, red wagon, with a young boy inside. My son was a little older than he is in real life, maybe 5 years old, and the young boy looked about 3. He had big, brown eyes, and a mess of dark, curly hair. He had a small animal crate with him, but I couldn’t see what was inside. I asked where the little boy came from, and how they had gotten there. My son told me that the little boy lived there, and he didn’t want to go home. I asked the boy why he didn’t want to go home, but he just stared at me. I gave him a long speech about how he needed to stay safe, and that I would try to help him as much as I could. He hugged me, and suddenly, there were other children around us, all taking turns hugging me, then walking away.

After the fifth or six kid hugged me, I turned to my son and asked where he found the boy. We got into a decrepit, terrifying elevator, and he brought me up to a different floor of the building, which was a total dump. The little boy kept telling me he didn’t want to go home, and I told him I had to at least tell his parents where he was, in case they were worried. He told me he didn’t have parents.

My son brought me to the door of an apartment, and told me that’s where the little boy lived. The little boy jumped out of the wagon, and ran away. The door was open, and I went in. There lights did not work, but I could see that it wasn’t an apartment at all, but rather, a large closet. One room. No windows. There was an old computer sitting on a table, and there was some sort of game open, which looked a lot like World of Warcraft, only… it wasn’t.

Then, there was a woman behind me, asking all sorts of questions as I looked through the contents of the computer, looking for clues. She spoke as if she were my partner, and we were detectives or something. She was asking me how to play the game on the computer…

And then I woke up.

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

Leave a Reply

