Dream Journal 3/7/16

Present.

I was taking Liam for a walk in my old hometown. We were walking toward the Burger King, and I was pointing out all of the surrounding landmarks to him. We were walking past the cemetery, when I noticed that the entire city was eerily quiet. There were no cars, no people, no birds, just silence. I picked him up, and left his stroller on the side of the road. We walked into the Burger King, and there were no workers, or anyone else, around. Trays, napkins, and food littered the ground. I sat Liam on the floor, walked around the counter, and started looking for food.

I grabbed some buns and cookies from the back, and went back to the dining area. It was dark outside now, and I picked up Liam and started running outside. I could hear screams echoing in the distance, but they sounded like they were surrounding us. We ran to the Rite Aid behind the Burger King, where I found a storm cellar. I took a flashlight out of my pocket, and we went into the cellar, and I made sure to shut the large, metal doors over our heads. I could hear footsteps above ground, inside the Pharmacy, and Liam started to fuss. I put my hand over his mouth to keep him from making noise.

Then, we were back outside, and it was morning. The sun was shining, and there were people walking around, like it was normal. I walked back to where I left Liam’s stroller, put him in it, and started walking in the opposite direction. Sirens started going off, and I sprinted, still pushing the stroller, into the cemetery. Two huge tanks appeared, driving down the road we were just on, smashing and crumbling the asphalt, creating holes in the ground. There was green grass under the tar.

A young woman was hiding beside a nearby mausoleum, and she beckoned us over. We ran over, and ducked inside, just as a helicopter flew overhead, very low to the ground. Her name was Emma, and she had short blonde hair and dark brown eyes. She told us the army was looking for survivors, and I seemed to know what she was talking about. She took out a large cauldron and started to cook something inside of it over a fire…

And then I woke up.

(FYI, I’ve been watching a lot of The Walking Dead lately, and it has seriously been affecting my dreams.)

Published by

Super Jan

I am an exceedingly average, 20-something female. Very opinionated, and slightly vulgar. I am a retired World of Warcraft player and podcaster, a Netflix binge-watcher, a YouTube addict, and stay-at-home mom to a tiny future superhero.

Leave a Reply

